Midas' Daughter

Vuyelwa Carlin
Publication Date: 
Friday, March 1, 1991
No votes yet

Midas’ Daughter is Vuyelwa Carlin’s first full-length book of poems. Her short-line stanzas are studded with jewel-like images that accrue into mysterious tales or characters from myth and history. The first section of the book is devoted to poems on the theme of trees. They show a fine sympathy for the natural word and an understanding of our uses and abuses of trees. In the second section we meet a host of formidable women from myth, including Midas’s Daughter, Dido, Cleopatra, Psyche and Medusa. The final, miscellaneous section ranges from the delicate lyric of 'Night Music' to the story of 'The Robbing of the Mantle of Tanit'.

User Reviews

Sorry there are no reviews yet for this book