Ritual, 1969 Longlisted for Edge Hill Prize

21 March 2017 - 10:35am

Ritual, 1969 Longlisted for Edge Hill Prize

21 March 2017 - 10:35am

The longlist for the Edge Hill Prize 2017 has just been announced, with Jo Mazelis’ gothic and uncanny short story collection, Ritual, 1969, featuring alongside forty other titles from both new and established writers, such as Mark Haddon (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time), Susan Hill (The Woman in Black, The Mist in the Mirror and I’m the King of the Castle) and Helen Oyeyemi (Mr Fox and Boy, Snow, Bird).

The winner, to be announced at Edinburgh International Book Festival in August, will receive a £10,000 prize.

The Prize is the only UK-based award that recognizes excellence in a published short story collection and will also include a £1,000 Reader’s Choice award to a writer from the shortlist, and a further category for stories by Edge Hill University MA Creative Writing students.

Seren titles recognised in previous years include Graham Mort’s Touch (Winner, 2011), Jaki McCarrick’s The Scattering (Shortlisted, 2014) and Graham Mort’s most recent collection, Terroir (Longlisted, 2016).


This year’s judges are Thomas Morris (finalist, Edge Hill Prize 2016), Cathy Galvin (Director and Founder, The Word Factory) and Dr Rodge Glass (Reader in Literary Fiction, Edge Hill University).

The shortlist will be announced by 30th June with awards to be presented at a special event as part of Edinburgh International Book Festival in August.


See the full longlist on the Edge Hill University website


About Ritual, 1969:
What are little girls made of? What will they become? Will they run away to the circus or become dressmakers, teachers or servants? From the playground to adulthood the path is beset with misunderstandings, missed dates and hidden traps for the unwary. 

This darkly gothic collection of stories explores the unsettling borderland between reality and the supernatural. Ranging from early twentieth-century France to 1960s South Wales and contemporary Europe, Jo Mazelis’ singular vision and poetic language creates characters caught up in events and feelings they do not fully understand or control, giving the book its uncanny focus. Not all is as it seems in a world where first impressions may only conceal disguises and false trails - and there's no going back.

A thrilling third collection from the author of Jerwood Award winning novel Significance.